Resurrection Symphony

Season Opening

Resurrection Symphony



Our season opens with one of the biggest gestures in music and one of the central question we face as human beings.

In his Symphony No 2 of 1895, Gustav Mahler contemplated the inevitability of his own death and reassured his belief in resurrection. ‘I shall soar upwards, to the light to which no eye has soared,’ sings Mahler’s huge choir as his symphony transcends from terror to bliss: ‘I shall die to live.’

Edward Gardner and the Orchestra are joined by Scandinavian soloists Miah Persson and Lise Davidsen, alongside singers from local choirs, for Mahler’s musical vision of the Last Judgment – his most beloved and monumental symphonic creation and an overwhelming live music experience.


Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 1
Symphony No. 4
Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen