About us

About us

One of the world’s oldest orchestras, the Bergen Philharmonic dates back to 1765, and celebrates its 250th anniversary throughout 2015. Edvard Grieg had a close relationship with the orchestra, serving as Artistic Director from1880 to 1882.

Administration

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Bernt E. Bauge
bernt.bauge@harmonien.no


PROGRAMMING

Oddmund Økland
Director of Artistic Programming
Tel +47 55 21 62 26 / +47 93 03 16 15
oddmund@harmonien.no


CONCERTS & EDUCATION

Lars Inge Haugen
Concerts Director
Tel +47 55 21 62 67 / +47 90 64 17 68
lars@harmonien.no

Rune Hannisdal
Head of Education
Tel +47 95 17 90 37
rune@harmonien.no

Viviann Alme
Concerts Manager / Coordinator, Bergen Philharmonic Youth Orchestra
Tel +47 55 21 62 40 / +47 476 37 215
viviann@harmonien.no

Sunniva Øiestad
Project Coordinator
Tel +47 93 20 48 83 
sunniva@harmonien.no

Johan Nordahl Due
Tomas Block
Orchestra Librarians
Tel +47 55 21 62 36
johan@harmonien.no
tomas@harmonien.no

Erlend Gjersvoll Brandsøy
Stage Manager
Tel +47 97 58 95 70
erlend@harmonien.no

Per Rye Ravnestad (on leave)
Stage Manager
Tel +47 91 31 76 13
piddi@harmonien.no


BERGEN PHILHARMONIC CHORUS

Håkon Matti Skrede
Chorus Master
Tel +47 91 30 04 27
hakon.matti.skrede@harmonien.no 


ORCHESTRA & PERSONNEL

Marit Norberg
Director of HR
Tlf. 55 21 62 39 / 482 13 526
marit@harmonien.no

Vidar Olsen
Orchestra Personnel Manager
Tel +47 55 21 62 24 / 90 10 92 47
vidar@harmonien.no

Michiel Westhof
Orchestra Personnel Manager
Tel +47 55 21 62 68 / 90 97 31 04
michiel@harmonien.no


MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS

Therese Eikevåg
Snorre Svendsen
Marketing Coordinators
Tel +47 55 21 62 28
marked@harmonien.no

Torill Gudmundsen
Group Sales Coordinator
Tel +47 55 21 62 25
torill@harmonien.no

Kjartan Vestbø
Sales & Marketing Director (acting)
Tel +47 55 21 62 65 / +47 47 64 77 12 
kjartan@harmonien.no

Liv Hege Tveit
Sales & Marketing Director (on leave)

Henning Målsnes
Communications Director
Tel +47 55 21 62 69 / +47 91 59 83 92
henning@harmonien.no


FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION

Bente S. Sælen
Finance & Administration Director
Tel +47 55 21 62 31 / +47 90 97 69 22
bente@harmonien.no

Astrid Eide
Fees Coordinator
Tel +47 55 21 62 35 / +47 48 15 80 92
astrid@harmonien.no

Eirin Langhelle Furu
Finance Officer
Tel +47 55 21 62 38
eirin@harmonien.no

Linda Spilde Larsen
Finance Officer
Tel +47 55 21 62 38
linda@harmonien.no

 

Board of Directors

Egil Herman Sjursen, Chair
Egil Myklebust, Deputy Chair
Rebecka Sofia Ahvenniemi
Jon Behncke
Torbjørn Eide
Knut Helland
Anne Sophie Bucher Johannessen
Beryl Lunder


Deputy members

Peter Kolderup Greve
Jostein Gundersen
Agnar Langeland
Martin Shultz
Karin S. Woldseth
Oddmund Økland

International tours

International tours


UPCOMING TOURS

2016: Germany

15 November: Berlin Konzerthaus
16 November: Die Glocke, Das Bremer Konzerthaus, Bremen
17 November: Braunschweig
18 November: Prinzregententheater, Munich

Edward Gardner, conductor
Truls Mørk, cello
Veronika Eberle, violin

2017: UK and The Netherlands

15 January: Saffron Hall, Saffron Walden
17 January: Symphony Hall, Birmingham
18 January: The Anvil, Basingstoke
19 January: City Hall, Sheffield
20 January: Cadogan Hall, London
22 January: Amsterdam, Concertgebouw

Edward Gardner, conductor
Truls Mørk, cello
Baiba Skride, violin (Basingstoke)
Ann-Helen Moen, soprano (Concertgebouw)

 

PREVIOUS TOURS

2015: Germany
Eivind Aadland, conductor
Bad Kissingen Festival

2015: Netherlands, UK and Ireland
Andrew Litton, conductor, Alina Ibragimova, violin

2015: Sweden
Edward Gardner, conductor, Viktoria Mullova, violin
Gothenburg Concert Hall

2013: UK
Andrew Litton, conductor, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano, Christian Ihle Hadland, piano
Usher Hall, Edinburgh, The Sage, Gateshead, Town Hall, Leeds, Warwick Arts Centre, Coventry, The Anvil, Basingstoke, Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, Cliffs Pavilion, Southend-on-Sea.

2012: Netherlands, Germany and Italy
Andrew Litton, conductor, Lars Vogt, piano, Tine Thing Helseth, trumpet
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Wiesbaden. Rheingau Festival, Kursaal, Merano

2011: Sweden, Germany and Austria
Andrew Litton, conductor, Martin Grubinger, percussion
Gothenburg Concert Hall, Bielefeld Audi Max, Kölner Philharmonie, Tonhalle Düsseldorf, Heidelberg Stadthalle, Linz Brucknerhaus, Wien Konzerthaus, München Gasteig, Berlin Philharmonie, Stuttgart Liederhalle, Frankfurt Alte Oper

2010: Sweden and UK
Andrew Litton, conductor, Freddy Kempf, piano, Julian Rachlin, violin, Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano
Stockholm Concert Hall, The Sage, Gateshead, Derby, Cadogan Hall, London

2009: Germany and Denmark
Andrew Litton, conductor, David Garrett, violin, Gautier Capucon, cello
Philharmonie/Gasteig, Munich, Audimax Regensburg, Kölner Philharmonie, Liederhalle Stuttgart, Denmark Radio Copenhagen

2008: Poland, Sweden and Estonia
Andrew Litton, conductor , Nikolaj Znaider, violin, Johannes Moser, cello
Sala Filharmonia, Warszaw, Poland, Estonia Concert Hall, Tallinn, Estonia, Stockholm Konserthus, Sweden, Musikverein, Vienna

2007: USA
Andrew Litton, conductor, Andre Watts, piano
George Mason University, Concert Hall, Fairfax, US Naval Academy, Alumni Hall, Annapolis, Carnegie Hall, New York, University of CT, Jorgensen Auditorium, Storrs, Concert Theatre, Tilles Center, Greenvale, Bob Carr Auditorium, Orlando, Carnival Symphony Hall, Miami, Concert Hall, Kravis Center, West Palm Beach, Concert Hall, Kravis Center, West Palm Beach, Peabody Auditorium, Daytona Beach, Concert Hall, Emory University, Atlanta, Belk Theater, Charlotte

2007: Netherlands and UK
Andrew Litton, conductor, Boris Berezovsky, piano
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Birmingham Symphony Hall, Royal Albert Hall (BBC Proms)

2006: Germany and Denmark
Andrew Litton, conductor, Leila Josefowicz, violin
Radiohusets Koncertsal, Copenhagen, Kurhaus Wiesbaden, Regensburg, Kölner Philharmonie, Tonhalle, Düsseldorf

2005: Italy, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria
Andrew Litton, conductor, Iris Vermillion, mezzo-soprano, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin, Christoph Berner, piano
Teatro nuovo Giovanni da Udine, Cankarjev dom, Ljubljana, Zagreb, Rome, Konzerthaus Wien, Congress Innsbruck

 

Recordings

Recordings

The Orchestra has an active recording schedule, and recent and ongoing recording projects include Messiaen’s Turangalîla-Symphony, ballets by Stravinsky, and a complete version of Prokofiev’s symphonies.

The Orchestra’s recording of the complete orchestral music of Edvard Grieg remains the reference point in a competitive field. The first collaboration on disc between Edward Gardner and the Orchestra was a recording of orchestral realisations by Luciano Berio, and a string of new recordings with Gardner is now in progress. 

Our complete discography will be published shortly.